In 2019, the Board held six regular meetings and eight special meetings. The independent directors met seven times in executive session without any officer of the Company present. Each director attended 75% or more of the total number of meetings of the Board and his or her respective committees for the period that such director served on the Board during 2019 (overall attendance at such meetings was over 96%). While the Company does not have a formal policy, it strongly encourages its directors to attend the annual meeting of the shareholders. All directors currently in office attended the 2019 Annual Meeting.

The Board has four standing Committees: Audit, Management Development and Compensation, Corporate Governance, and Public Policy and Corporate Responsibility. The Board may from time to time form new Committees, disband an existing Committee and delegate additional responsibilities to a Committee. The responsibilities of the Committees are set forth in written charters, which are reviewed periodically by the Committees and, where appropriate, the Corporate Governance Committee and the Board. All of the charters are available on the Company’s investor relations website at or by selecting Charters and Documents from the left-side navigation menu.